The Mayerthorpe Fallen Four Memorial Society

Box 3700 Mayerthorpe AB T0E 1N0    (780) 786-2033


Alberta Lottery Fund Supports the Fallen Four Memorial Society

March 2006

Mayerthorpe – MLA George VanderBurg has announced that the provincial government will present a cheque for $300,000 to the Fallen Four Memorial Society to help with the cost of building the Memorial Park.

"MLA George VanderBurg's support and that of our provincial government means a great deal, both financially and emotionally," said outgoing Fallen Four Society President, Margaret Thibault.

"We thank George for his belief in this project, and for his efforts to secure $300,000 from the provincial government, through the Alberta Lottery Fund," said incoming Society President, Jurgen Preugschas.

“This memorial will act as a constant reminder to the community of Mayerthorpe, as well as the entire province of the four brave RCMP officers who lost their lives protecting and serving their community,” said Gaming Minister, Gordon Graydon.  “The hearts of all Albertans go out the families and the community for their tremendous loss.  The Alberta Lottery Fund is a proud supporter of this very important community memorial.”

The Alberta Lottery Fund enhances quality of life by supporting volunteers, volunteer organizations and their community initiatives. Every year, thousands of volunteer, public and community-based initiatives receive support from the Alberta Lottery Fund.

The cheque presentation will take place this week, the time and location is yet to be determined.